What's new
What's new

HLV-H Tailstock Questions

benha

Plastic
Hi,

I recently "inherited" an HLV-H in fairly pristine condition (as well as a similarly pristine Bridgeport and a whole raft of tooling for both.) Nice first machines on which to learn, to be sure. I'm now spoiled.

In any event, I'm having an issue with the HLV-H's tailstock.

Much of what I do on this lathe involves drilling holes using a drill chuck mounted in the tailstock. What came with the machine is a nice Albrecht model with an MT shank. The challenge I'm facing is that the MT shank will regularly break free and spin. I've tried degreasing, scuffing, and a whole raft of other possible "fixes" but nothing works. I'm no machining expert and don't really have anyone to ask, so I'm hoping someone here might suggest a fix for this.

Also, I'm a bit surprised this is possible in the first place. The chuck's taper has a tang on the end of it. Why doesn't the tailstock's female taper have a slot that the tang slips into to keep it from spinning? (As I said, I'm new to all this.)

Anyway, I'd appreciate any suggestions / info you've got. I'm sure this problem only gets worse every time it happens so I'd like to find a real fix.

Also: I'm wondering if it's possible to use MT collets with this tailstock? I'm not sure how that would work since I don't suspect there's a way to install a drawbar, but again, I'm new to all of this.

Thanks,
-Ben