What's new
What's new

Holbrook Minor DC moor speed controller

tbirds

Aluminum
Hi,
I had first posted this request for help in the Sales forum by mistake, and although I got one answer, I'm hoping to get more details here, my not being electrically knowledgeable.
The controller is toast, burnt all around and shorted internally, needing replacing.
I found one on E-bay for 300$, but wandering if there are alternatives as Thermite assured me, and at cheaper prices.

Anyone knows of a source? It's identical to the older HLV-H except for voltage: 240-280vac, 2.25 amps max, to control a 200vdc, 1.5 amp., 3500rpm and about 1/4hp. motor.

Thanks a lot.

Attachments

• _DSC0064.jpg
    _DSC0064.jpg
    43 KB · Views: 36
  • _DSC0062.jpg
    _DSC0062.jpg
    42.3 KB · Views: 46
Good morning Thermite,
That is one complete and nice answer, but not being an electrician, I soon got lost in the terminology; as an example, I hired a commercial electrician to hook up the phase converter, transformer, switch boxes, add a relay and fuses for the coolant pump; 10 hrs. later and 1,000$, the lathe doesn't work' the overload heaters in the 240v box, kept melting; so he installed bigger ones; now the forward contactor arcs and rattles rapidly; all voltages are within limits and properly hooked up; so he went away scratching his head. I then called the guy that had sold me the transfo. for my HLV-H which, by the way works the Holbrook nicely; within seconds of explaining my dilemma, he tells me my transformer is hooked up backwards: what I have is as commercial transformer, meant to hook it up to a 600vac shop supply, to give me a 240v output for a motor that runs on that; so your voltage is too high, hence the arcing etc.I need a step-up transformer, which I'm still looking for.

So, I ordered the only available variac. on E-bay; at least that should work.
Thanks again for the explanation: like you said, you've been pushing electrons too long, and I've been pushing wrenches too long