What's new
What's new

How do you home a Bridgeport with Fanuc 0T

shanghyd

Aluminum
Got a Bridgeport Romi 35E Centur lathe. Problem is trying to home the x axis. I don’t know how to home the lathe so I’m doing g28 x0 in the mdi.
The x axis will over travel and error.
The position screen shows distance left around 4900.
I manually move the x and z to machine position zero and get the same result with g28 x0
G28 z0 works perfectly.
I’m just learning about this machine. I’m not a machinist by trade. This is in a home shop. Any help is appreciated

Got a Bridgeport Romi 35E Centur lathe. Problem is trying to home the x axis. I don’t know how to home the lathe so I’m doing g28 x0 in the mdi.
The x axis will over travel and error.
The position screen shows distance left around 4900.
I manually move the x and z to machine position zero and get the same result with g28 x0
G28 z0 works perfectly.
I’m just learning about this machine. I’m not a machinist by trade. This is in a home shop. Any help is appreciated

usually there is a zero return button then cycle start.
some machines need
G53 G28 X0. (G49 G40 needed if tool comp is active to turn tool comp off)
some use G91 G28 X0. (incremental mode and X0. from intermediate position)
some machines will alarm if G28 and G53 used
work offset G53 is machine coordinates (after it wont stay in G53 it normally returns to previous work offset used) and if successful the green light on X axis indicates at zero return position and display will read a combination of current work offset from zero return position for example if

G54 X10. is on work offset screen then at zero return position and no tool comp active it should read like X-10. (usually opposite from whats on G54 work offset screen)
so unless the G54 work offset screen shows all zeros at zero return position it will show something other than zero. on work offset screen there is often also a common offset that effects all other offsets (they are added together)