What's new
What's new

How Does the Quill Feed Work????

billyjack

Plastic
Hey Guys and Gals.
I'm new to bridgeport operation and have no idea how the quill feed is suppose to work. I have the trip lever adjusted to it trips out but is the quill suppose to reverse???? I just today replaced the feed reverse knob and can't get it to do anything. It's suppose to be a three position with up, neutral, and down as selection. Mine doesn't do anything!!! Any idea why. Also, the feed when engaged comes down to the trip point and trips out the clutch. Is it suppose to reverse??? I have a decent parts manual but the operational part is lacking but the illustrations are pretty good. Can someone help. I love this old machine.
Bill

Sorry for the lack of information guys, trying to get this all in!!! The model is a 74 2J2 2HP variable mill. I've just finished refurbishing it and am trying to get all the bells and whistles working as designed. Lots of cleanup but Old "molly" is worth it.
Thanks again.
Bill

#1 engage the quill feed mechanism on the right hand side of the head.
#2 Pull out the ball and rotate the arm to the rear and make sure the plunger engages in the hole (use regular drive -not back gear for now).
#3 The knob in the center of the "fine feed" handwheel needs to be either pulled out or pushed in (usually easier to do once the spindle is actually rotating). Once the knob is either in or out, you should see the handwheel start to rotate (clockwise or counter-clockwise).
#4 pull the trip lever out on the left side and it should snap into position and stay. At this point the quill will start to drive in the direction determined by the handwheel rotation.

You might want to play with manually using the "fine feed" handwheel before using the autofeed.

And in addition to what Jim said, the feed is not supposed to reverse but just stop going up or down.