What's new
What's new

I have a small mill and want to remove .001 from a plate Beginner here

TeckJohn

Plastic
r8.jpgstone.jpg How can i connect these 2 together to use with my vertical mill? I just need to remove .001 from a 3 inch diameter plate

Unless you're dealing with a very hard steel plate, you're not using the right tool for the job. And when used with a Bridgeport, you're going to find that wheel skates all over the workpiece and could cause damage.

I'd suggest you look to a few other forums that are oriented more towards hobby and home shop machinists. You're going to get better (and more patient) advice for the sort of work you're doing.

View attachment 290826View attachment 290827 How can i connect these 2 together to use with my vertical mill? I just need to remove .001 from a 3 inch diameter plate

Leave the abrasive wheel TF alone. It is the "consumable" part in this scenario, and will in the fullness of time want replaced with another one ... wear or change of grit, either way... which will have the same diameter center hole.

Alter the arbour instead. It is EASIER, as well.

Remove the removable lugs.

Mount the face/shell mill arbour in your are-ate AKA "often EATEN", let's-pretend-we-are-a-collet-system spindle.

Configure the mill for high speed.

Apply "backed" abrasive. Flat and true. You can DO this accurately ..if you want to badly enough. By "feel", even.

"Backed" as-in fabric roll stretched over a nice, flat, handy to hold onto length of metal. So it produces a nice, flat shape. Not a bunch of curves.

A modest taper? That you can live with. So long as it is "fatter" towards the arbour body, not towards the tip. Which.. ta da.. is actually "natural" if you are going to have any SIGNIFICANT deviation at all.

Only the "shape" AKA "OD", gets progressively smaller ON the OD.

Rather slowly. "Patience" is your friend.

The good news is that "patience" works for waaay less than minimum wage.