What's new
What's new

List of Hardinge accessories?

DocsMachine

Titanium
Is there, anywhere, anything like a definitive list of Hardinge accessories, and what models they fit?

With help from a few posters here, and looking at a bunch of photos, I think I have a decent starting set of tooling for my HSL. But I started wondering, as I was looking for a decent- and affordable- cross slide set, which are the models to look for, which ones fit what machine, etc.

I was confused for a bit when I saw various cross slide assemblies marked "Model B" and "Model N" and the like, thinking that they were meant to FIT a "Model B".

Please keep in mind I'm brand new to Hardinges in general. :D

Anyway, yes, I've since figured out those are models/generations of the cross slide itself, and am pretty sure there's only the two types of bed- the "split" bed and the dovetail. (Not counting, of course, the HLV-H, etc.)

But there's still others I'd be interested in. I understand there's a rear-mount parting tool holder for the DV/HSL lever cross slide, but I haven't even been able to find a picture of one. Front, yes, spindle-mount, sure, but rear? Nothing I've been able to find.

I'd also like to know if there's other, more rare or specialty tooling that I haven't heard about. For example, is there a way to do small drilling on an HSL? I saw a lever-actuated tailstock that'd be ideal, but it is, of course, far too large for an HSL.

Would the trick, then, be to simply put a bolting tool post on one of those straight/taper lever top slides, and fit a drill to it? I only need about an inch and a half swing on a tiny center drill.

Is there a book or manual or anything that shows all this, or better yet, an online source?

Doc.

As you may have noticed, I have been using Hardinge lathes for decades and started with old Cataract brand machines. But I have a few newer models, including an HSL, and lots of tooling that works on both old and new models.