What's new
What's new

Looking for any information on an Index Model 55 vertical mill

Earl's Boy

Plastic
This may be the incorrect Forum for this question, but I figure that some Bridgeport guys may know something about this vintage Index mill. This was my Dad's machine... he used it extensively over the past 30+ years... but he unexpectedly passed away this past Spring and took his knowledge of this machine with him. This somewhat cobbled-together machine now rests in my pole building shop and I want to begin using it. All vestiges of the power feed were removed when my Dad got the mill, which is a zero factor to me because I'm an amateur machinist and everything I'll ever work on will be small custom parts. The drive motor mounting is completely home-brewed... I hope to streamline that mounting somewhat.

I'd really like to get some info on this machine... operating manuals/instructions, parts listing, photos, drawings... anything.

Any assistance will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Steve

Thanks for the info. I contacted Wells-Index and they were VERY helpful. I ordered (has not yet arrived) a parts & drawings package from them and they gave me the information on the mill from when it was purchased back on January 24th, 1955... it was sold to the shop where my Dad ended up working several years and he obviously bought it from them when the mill was around 15 years old.

I have the same mill. I just got it cleaned repainted and replaced some parts. Need any pictures of anything let me know. Dave

Dave,

Yes, if you just have a few nice, general pics, I would LOVE to see them! My Index Model 55 is sort of "rough" and stripped down... all the power feed mechanism has been removed and the motor (now a basic 110V unit) is changed, plus 90% of the pulley guard / motor mount bracket has been torched away and the motor was "temporarily" mounted by my dad about 40 years ago and operated with the "temporary" motor mount ever since (lol).