What's new
What's new

M Head Repair

John E

Cast Iron
I'm new to the PM forums, but read everything I could find on this subject.
I just got an M Head Round Ram BP (sn 6148, 1946 vintage). The upper bearings sound terrible, although the spindle spins easily. Based on what I read, these bearings are just basic bearings. After MUCH searching on the part numbers listed in other posts (verbatim search produced no hits except on the PM forums) I finally found enough details to be confidant I understand what they are, and the differences between the 3 pair. Based on that, I plan to get a pair of 6206 abec-3 bearings from Mcmaster.
Now is where I get stuck. Just how do you go about taking the spindle apart? It looks like the 'spindle pulley hub' should unscrew from the bearing housing, but since it rotates, where is the appropriate grip location to prevent it from spinning? Based on the other posts, open bearings are an absolute must, but since these are up inside the pulley, how does the lubricant get 'up' there? Can these be sealed bearings?
Although I don't plan to take it apart (yet...), does the balance of the spindle come out through the bottom of the quill by removing the nose piece as is described in J Head posts? If so, there there a special tool required that grips into the hole in the nole piece, just below the quill set screw? Would this be very tight, related to the loading of the lower bearings?
Any insite into the procedures would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
John

If you had a parts breakdown you could get a good
idea of what's going on.

Oil gets *down* into the bearings, not up.

It goes from the oil cup at the upper left
side of the aluminum housing, to the
pulley bearings, to the upper two spindle
bearings, to the lower two bearings, and then
out onto your shirt.

Hmm. How do you lock the spindle so the
nut at the top of the pulley can be undone? I
forgot how that works, maybe a strap wrench?

Once the pulley comes off the aluminum housing