What's new
What's new

Need Advice on my First Bridgeport Purchase

mrplasma

Aluminum
I have been using a 6" x 26" import mill for the past 35 years. I've decided to follow the advice of many on the forum and move up to a Bridgeport. There's a spot in my garage with 220 volt single phase power where it will fit, and I would probably use a VFD.

I am 81 years old, and have been holding off on my decision because of the bulk and weight of most of these machines. A local dealer now has a 9" x 32" Bridgeport with a 1/2 hp 3 phase motor. My import has a 1 hp motor, so this seems somewhat inadequate. Yet if it is inadequate, why would Bridgeport have used it? It also has a #7 Brown & Sharpe taper on the spindle. The mill only weighs 1,250 lbs, which is a big plus for me, as I could move it with an engine hoist and dolly if necessary.

I would welcome any advice, particularly on the hp and spindle taper. Thanks!

A dealer should be able to put it under power and show you that everything works as it should.
If not then you are not much better off than just buying one at auction.

QT Op: [I am 81 years old], then you deserve a decent machine. Are you running job parts or just for your own projects?

Decent BP likely $3,000 to $8,000...Clunker to good $900 to $3000.

I have known the dealer for many years, and would be able to see it under power before a purchase. My main concern is the 1/2 hp and the availability of tooling for the spindle, which I know nothing about. Also, what would be involved in switching to a bigger motor on these guys?

I am retired, and do only my own projects, most of which involve trying to come up with new metal fab. ideas. This one is priced at $3,500, which is within my budget range.

Bridgeport 9x32.jpg