What's new
What's new

VFD Confusion for my Bridgeport

MRC2014

Plastic
I've been reading on here for a long time, but have had my Bridgeport sitting without power since I got it in July. I'm no closer to knowing what VFD I should get than I was when shopping for the mill. Lately, I'm reading about sensorless vector, flux vectors, open vs closed loop (but all are closed...or something). I'm not an electrician, just a gunsmith. I'm trying to avoid blindly ordering something and seeing if my electrician can hook it up while hoping not to damage the machine. I could really use a Barney-style, simplified suggestion as to what to focus on. I thought I was going to order a Mitsubishi 2HP, 230V single phase input, 3 phase output, until all these other things came up. Gunsmithing is the purpose, so the workload is pretty light. Thanks.

2e7iitf.jpg

sgjuXzp.jpg

I gather you're going this route, since you don't have a 3-phase supply. If this is the case, there is no reason to get a 2 hp drive with a 1 hp motor, unless you plan on upgrading your motor in the future, you will just be paying more without any benefit. i.e. you will have to limit the output current so you don't burn out your motor. Y

You can ignore most, if not all, the advanced features. You need a single phase input 120 or 240, whatever you have available in your shop and a 3 phase output, rated to your motor... 1 hp @ 3.5 amps. That's the basic part. The control wiring is the only advanced part you need the electrician to deal with.

I have a Leeson on my bridgeport and a TECO Westinghouse on my lathe. The contol wiring was a little weird on the TECO, but I emailed them and they told.me how to configure it to the existing machine controls. The Leeson was way more straightforward for the Bridgeport wiring. It was pretty much plug and chug.

Hope that helps...

J.

That is a great help! Thank you!