What's new
What's new

240,000 data points to mill

Yes I'm new to the CNC world but learning the hard way. I have had a unique cylinder head combustion chamber laser scanned and now have a quarter million data points that need to be massaged into a usable milling program. After welding up the seat pockets and all the remaining surfaces to be re-machined back to OEM profiles/ contours, the combustion chambers don't need mold surface finish but can live with a respectable surface finish. The problem I have is 240,000 points wont work due to time and memory. I'm drip feeding into an older Fanuc milling machine with 4800 baud max capacity. Not sure how or what program to post process the points into the best program. I have read about arc fitting, step over cusp calculations, look ahead drip feeding programs for feed rate adjustments and some other ideas. I'm not in the position to purchase a newer machine at this time and need to make my machine work for at least eighteen months, then I may move onto a newer controller/ machine.
Has anyone been confronted with many data point conversions into a workable program? I know throwing out some of the points can be done but which ones? Is there a best practice post processing method for assisting in doing what I need to do? And can an inexperienced programmer tackle such a humongous program?