What's new
What's new

Benefits of Verification software - Edgecam

Tomped

Plastic
Hello first post on this forum.

Im a CadCam programmer using Edgecam.
I program a varity of machines from basic 3 axis verticals (brother) right through to state-of-the-art full simultanious 5 axis (mazak variaxis, vtc)

Just wondering what the benefits of verification software such as Vericut, Camplete, NCSimul etc over the built in machine simulation that comes with Edgecam are?

The simulation on Edgecam is created through the post processors supplied by Vero and simulates full machine kinematics, so collision checks against a real representation of our machines and setups.

Is there any real benefit of using a third party simulator over the edgecam simulation because from what I can gather they look pretty similar?

Thanks

Is there any real benefit of using a third party simulator over the edgecam simulation because from what I can gather they look pretty similar?

Thanks
Absolutely there is a benefit. But you also pay thru the nose for that benefit as well.
And IMO it's only really needed for 5 axis stuff so that you're 100% positive there will be no crash or gouging.

Is it G code sim? I think that is the big deal there... I know I used a Mastercam verify*, BUT had a post processor and machine sim built by a 3rd party that used the G code (ya'll can check with the Emastercam crowd on that), and I never had any crashes.

edit: *5 axis sim for a Haas UMC 750. For 3 axis, most verify is ok, IMO (be sure to check out dog leg rapids if you do have an issue!)

Absolutely there is a benefit. But you also pay thru the nose for that benefit as well.
And IMO it's only really needed for 5 axis stuff so that you're 100% positive there will be no crash or gouging.

Thanks for the reply.
I would say 5-axis simultanious probably accounts for less than 5% of what we do.