What's new
What's new

Which CAD/CAM software for the beginner?

Rather Diesel

Plastic
I didn't want to hijack the student edition thread, so I started a new one.

Background: I was an auto-body mechanic for 15 years, and quit six years ago to run my food business full-time. My wife took over the food business about three months ago, so I am starting a new career. I have been building things forever, and always admired machinists, so.......

I am taking my first machinist class at the local college. The pace is pretty slow though. I'm also re-learning my algebra, geometry and trig. In addition to that, I'm taking an online CNC programming course.

I have some free time in between that stuff and the "family" thing for another course, and I was considering learning CAD/CAM software on my own. I already have some product ideas, but I'm not sure about the path I might be taking in the field if I end up working for someone else.

Is there a CAD/CAM software that has a very STRONG tutorial element or "ease of learning"? Or, should I be focusing on another skill/software?

Thanks very much.

Roy

What does the community college offer in their CAD lab?

There is no such thing as a "beginner" CAD system. Human beings have the remarkable ability to adapt to their environment. CAD systems are just a tool of the trade, and circumstance dictates which tool is learned, and what level of proficiency in gained. Some people learn on AutoCAD, and some people learn on Unigraphics.

Pick what's relevant. CAD/CAM is nothing more than a set of concepts. All programs do the same thing with varying degrees of capability. Learn the "basics" of any CAD system, and you'll just have to learn the names of the functions in the next program that you use. And if you end up in a better CAD system, you can pick up those "advanced" concepts at that time.

Here's a post I wrote a while ago to a similar inquiry-