What's new
What's new

Cam works

wolf44

Plastic
I am looking for feed back on cam works. I have been using surfcam since 1999 and just fed up with it. I use Solidworks for all my design work and I am looking for a cam package to integrate with solidworks to run my chip machines. I do some 3d machining and use 4th axis rotation.
Any feed back of the pro's and cons would be helpful.
How's the support ?
Is their training good ?

Thanks

Wolf,

If your SWx subscription is up to date, give Solidworks CAM Standard a whirl, it is included in SWx 2018 for those on maintenance. Whatever you learn in SWx CAM Standard translates up to the higher packages.
If you are trying out different CAM systems, give GibbsCAM a try. They have a thirty day trial offer. The UI has been updated and the posts are solid. GibbsCAM has some good online training options to get you started.

Chazsani

Sent using CIMCO Edit DNC

Wolf,

As for support, first level support is your VAR... then it rolls up to HLC/CAMWorks, but you generally do not get to talk with the folks at HLC/CAMWorks.
Training is typically done by your VAR or a VAR.

Chazsani

Sent using CIMCO Edit DNC

Why not try Mastercam, the reseller is in Snellville. Just ask for Allen Drost, he is the owner and has been in business for a long time. Very helpful staff and all around easy to work with.

I am a Solidworks CAM professional user now for about 8 months. This is CAM works as supplied by Solidworks. I am not a power user and don't have too much other than some limited use of Fusion360 to compare it to. I like it. It has done what I need. My complaint so far, and it is not a big one for now, is that support has been not great. This is mostly because my Solidworks VAR is new to CAM works. I think/hope this will work its way out as they get up to speed with CAM works. For more detail see this post:

https://www.practicalmachinist.com/...ic-trochoidal-adaptive-mill-toolpaths-352156/