CAMworks. Beware!!! - Page 3
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by BadBeta View Post
    I can see that martin_05 likely has posted this in a frustrated state, but that in itself doesn't make it invalid. (Just a bit more colorful with some attitude). Still I value his post and info quite highly - indeed I'd like to hear about similar bugs and annoyances in all other programs as well. Maybe we should start a thread with Top 5 pro's and con's of CAM programs?
    That is probably a fair statement. And thanks for proposing that we don't shoot the messenger.

Let me give you a little more context. I am not a Machinist. Let's please not hold this against me either. Officially, I am an Electrical Engineer who specialized in Robotics way back when. And --also way back when-- I published a couple of papers on robotics, control, design, etc. What I do now isn't related to robotics, but my prior life had me doing it all: circuit design, software design, mechanical design, manufacturing, troubleshooting and making the darn things work. I'll just say that I am very well rounded in the five or six hats that I end-up wearing in the course of doing business.

Wearing a bunch of hats makes you appreciate good tools because what you need most is to be effective in the various tasks you encounter. An example of this would be the transition from using AutoCAD to SolidWorks. Huge improvement in productivity, capabilities and throughput, among other things.

My approach to all things is generally to see just how effective I can be in getting a job done. And, again, I appreciate good tools whether they be physical tools or software tools. Anything that gets in my way or is a pain to use is either modified or replaced. I'm sure we all have stories about the bargain drill (or whatever) that we bought that turned out to be a very expensive way to save money.