What's new
What's new

Can anyone tell me why Surfcam or Mastercam is better?

snowshooze

Hot Rolled
Hurco recommends Surfcam. And I am too dumb to even understand their supporting argument.
I was figuring on Solidworks with a Mastercam back...
But I cannot find any straight out answers why I might pick Mastercam over Surfcam.. and I am very new at all this.
I do know the quotes I have from Mastercam are tipping $20,000.00 for full 5 axis mill work... and I haven't talked to Surfcam at all yet.
I am dumb machinist. Want to stay that way. Which one makes good code without making my head hurt?
Thanks again Guys!
Mark

All depends on which surfcam?

There is surfcam Traditional which is the original one that started it all from Surfware, they got bought out by Vero about 3 years ago.

Then there is surfcam, this is the new software based on EdgeCam, just rebranded really, I have taken a training course on it powerful just a bit more involved.

I have used surfcam traditional since 92\93 the UI is old to say the least but I cut parts on a Hurco KM3P and now on a VM10i, never bad code works great just the UI is like AutoCad 12

As for MasterCam never used it, to a class and didn't like it, surfcam T would out perform it back then, now not sure.

If you want a SolidWorks and CAM solution, look at SolidCam, HSMWorks or CAMWorks they all run inside of SW, even BobCam has a version that does also.

Ken Meritt at SolidCam does alot of online demos on Hurcos, he used to run surfcam trad. as a user and then worked for them as a support tech for them, he is very knowledgeable and a straight shooter. If you talk to him tell him Lenny sent ya.

Hurco recommends Surfcam. And I am too dumb to even understand their supporting argument.
I was figuring on Solidworks with a Mastercam back...
But I cannot find any straight out answers why I might pick Mastercam over Surfcam.. and I am very new at all this.