Catia V5 vs. NX for manufacturing
Close
Login to Your Account
    westk Guest

Default Catia V5 vs. NX for manufacturing

Do any of you have experience with both Catia V5 and Unigraphics NX ?

I have a lot of experience with Catia V5 and am curious how NX stacks up against it for 5 axis part programming. When I look at the NX website it seems as though they have more tool path options and features that Catia doesn't.

I don't know if I'm just seeing it as the grass is greener on the other side kind of thing, but it seems like Catia doesn't put as much effort into their advanced machining platform anymore and rather focuses on cloud computing and drafting more so.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Were it my choice, I'd take NX.
    More choices on how to get something done.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I have NX and been using it for about a year and a half. Only 3+2 and 4+1 work though. Never done any full 5 axis moves. JB Solutions is the dealer up here near me. Not sure who handles Southern California.

Country
    CHINA
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Im just starting on NX (maybe 6 months in) and cut wise I think its far superior. I used Catia at Gulf Stream in Savannah and its focused more towards design IMO. Another pitfall is Catia evolves so fast they had training classes 4 hours a day once every two weeks just to try and keep everybody up to speed. Even the guys in the router shop had to take a whole separate class once a month for simple 2D work. From what I have seen in NX I am going to stick with it since I just do moderate design verses machining.

westk Guest

From looking at the NX website it seems as though they've incorporated all the fancy new tool paths for better trochoidal, volumill and hard metals roughing. Just to name a few of the differences.