What's new
What's new

Face Milling a Slant

cmmpro1

Plastic
Good morning everyone.
As you can by my past post, I am somewhat new to CAM. I am trying to figure out the best way to face mill a slant. The material is aluminum. I am using a HAAS five axis machining center and I'm progrsmming using InventorHSM with HAAS automation post processing. Thank you in advance for any info on this.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Tilt to the plane the slant is on and facemill it?
I assume HSM Inventor has that capability.

When you at "tilt to the plane" do you mean rotate the part to where that slant is level? I am not sure I understand.

How much experience do you have running the 5 axis mill? It sounds like you need some training, the answer I gave you is very basic terminology.

Sounds like you need to be very careful. Do a little studying and not break the machine.
Basic questions are fine. I would have to do the same, and would not touch that machine if not very sure.

Very little!!! I'm a cmm programmer. I got moved from quality because I have machining experience. I'm sorry for asking basic questions but I'm trying to learn.

In that case, the first thing I would do is watch a shit ton of YouTube videos to see the ins and outs of how a 5 axis machine works and I'm sure there are videos on HSM Inventor as well. Granted some videos are cutting very complex parts but you might pick up on something.

When I say tilt the plane that the slant is on, your programming software should have the option to create a new plane, then you orientate that plane so that the slant is facing up. Create a facing toolpath and you are off and running.
Setting up the machine is a whole different animal, are you responsible for that too? Or do you have a setup guy?