What's new
What's new

Fusion 360 multiple tool retracts

AndrewOrme

Plastic
Hello all, I am a mechanical engineer with lots of 3D design experience but I lack on the CAM side of things. I am using Fusion 360 to create a tool path for a mold. Tools range from between .007 and .035 flat end mill and ball end mill so it is a very small part. I'm using 3D adaptive for the tool path.

When creating the tool paths the tool retracts many many times. See yellow lines on attached. I have the LINKING at minimum retraction and STAY DOWN LEVEL at most. Any solutions/suggestions would be great.

Thanks
multiple retracts.jpg

Last edited:
In my experience when I get something like that (lots of unnecessary rapid moves) I am trying to use the wrong toolpath. 3D adaptive is a nice roughing strategy, but not a panacea. Since it starts with the assumption it will machine everything, everywhere, and then must be constrained, for simple geometry it is often better to use the 2D adaptive and tell it exactly where you want it to put in work. The AD forums are super helpful if you can share the project.

Hi Rick, thanks for your input. That makes sense. Would you mind taking a look at this pic? As this pocket changes geometry as you go deeper, I thought that 2D wouldn't work. Do you think there is a way to make 2D work with this pocket?GEOMETRY.jpg

3D vs 2D operations are correct for that part. Is that your initial rough or the re-rough operation - calculating a smaller tool from rest machining from previous operations?