What's new
What's new

Fusion 360 Questions

CodyMartin

Plastic
Hey guys! I’m new to the page and have a few quick questions. I am currenty a CNC mill machinist in the aerospace/defense and medical industry. I am wanting to ease into the programming side of things to help me understand why programmers do some of the things they do and hopefully become a full time programmer in the future. I have experience in mastercam/solidworks at my part time job and my full time job uses NX. My question is, what’s is everyone’s opinion on Fusion 360 for educational purposes? Both of my employers will not let me sit at a computer and teach myself so I’m just going to do it on my own at home. Would fusion help me learn the basics of it and transfer what I learn from it to other software such as mastercam? Also, what type of labtop is recommended to run fusion. Thanks!

Fusion CAD is not great if you're used to SolidWorks (sketching gets on my last nerve) but you can import models from SolidWorks so that's nice. CAM is just fine for 3-axis (and some limited 4-axis stuff). After you get a handle on work setups and toolpath strategies you can move that knowledge to other CAM systems. I'd say go for it because it won't cost you anything. You can run Fusion on most laptops (recommended specs are on Autodesk's website). Good luck!

I never learned Solidworks so I may not know better. I have been using Fusion for over 3 years now and love it for design and 3+1 milling. You can only learn so much without running the code you create. Doe NX not do educational licenses?

I’m not sure about NX. I don’t have access to a computer with the software. I just run and edit NX programs on a HAAS. Mastercam does have an educational tutorial but the boss won’t let me get ahold of it because he don’t want me to learn it and leave.

I never learned Solidworks so I may not know better.