What's new
What's new

Geometry based VS featured based(Happy Holidays)

tmao

Plastic
Hi everyone,

I'm new to this forum, I was a Mastercam only programmer for everything I got(aviation, oil&gas, mould making, tool&die, automation, automotive) till I got a new job.

The new company only use ESPRIT and made me so mad to program, every time I have to fight with those "features" even on 2D toolpath, and if you want to make any modification to feature you have to start over.

Here is my question, why they use such a stupid way to make program, it's like the program decide the toolpath, not I make the toolpath as I want.

Every CAM company when mentioned Mastercam they said it's a piece of crap, then started to bullshxt something like they bought "moduleworks company" to be their 5-axis department or other shxt.

Every CAM company tried to bite a meat from Mastercam, but why they can't just make everything easier, and for ESPRIT, you have to pay for everything, tutorial and training, they even don't want to sell you any book and only want you to go their very expensive classes.

I don't mind to learn new software, but why they can't make the software easy to use, why they can't make everything strait forward.

Please talk about your opinions about these two strategies, any friendly comments will be welcomed.

Thanks.

I can't speak about geometry based vs feature based, but I can say I feel your pain going to a new job with a new software.