What's new
What's new

Gibbscam workflow tips?

DevinJB

Plastic
I'm looking for any tips and tricks for Gibbscam workflow to speed up the programming process. I have a few years experience each in Mastercam and Fusion360(please don't hate).
I'm familiar with gibbs but I find the UI and workflow clunky, and I'm assuming I'm missing something.

If say you're programming a 2-op 3axis part, are you creating a 2nd VMC file for OP2?

the stock creation in the document manager feels really labor intensive, as does aligning the part to the WCS. Is there an easier way or a plugin to set up your stock? Do you have to align your part to the WCS or can you move your WCS easily to be relative to your part, without moving all the geometry that you've already created?

Anything features to be careful with?

Helpful tips?

Thanks in advance.

I program full time so someone else is running what I give to them. For this reason, I generally set up a VNC for each OP unless it's using the same tooling. It's easier for me to spit out set up sheets this way when everything is separate.

Making 3D solids in Gibbscam is cumbersome. I do what I can to get all of that taken care of before it gets to Gibbs. That being said, I think that the one your are looking for is "Move Part Origin" move part origin.jpg This will move everything to the given point or coordinate value. The starting WCS cannot be moved any other way. You can also right click a solid (with Face Selection turned on) for the option to "Align Face to CS". When making a new CS, there are all sorts of options to align it in the CS Palette. Points, geometry, and solids (using face and/or edge selection) can all be used to align these CSs.

If you right click in the menu/button blank space, there is a "Customize Tool Bars & Menus" where you can search and find nearly every option Gibbscam offers. After using the program for a while, you'll figure out what you'll need and you can use this to better your work flow.