What's new
What's new

How hard is it going to be to make this part with Bobcad V27?

swatkins

Titanium
I need a part for my Axelson lathe and searching for two years has not turned up a single lead on buying one...

My Torq Cut 22 is now running well and I'm thinking of making the part using it instead of manual machining the parts. I figure it's a good learning project at least. I'm on version 27 of Bobcat now ( it will never be higher ) and that is what I'm a little comfortable with. I can draw 2d parts and do toolpaths now but the part I need is going to be best machined in 3d and I have no experience with that.

Basically I'm at the point of learning to draw 3d and wondering if it is time to jump ship to Fusion or stay with a program that I will probably never upgrade. I'm not really happy with Fusion, as a company, after some of their previous stunts and frankly don't trust either software provider right now.

Please take a look at the part and tell me what you think..

The pictures were provided to me by Archie Cheda. Also shown are two pictures of the one he made on manual machines, Nice work Archie!

Attachments

• AX2.jpg
    AX2.jpg
    58.1 KB · Views: 304
  • AX1.jpg
    AX1.jpg
    38.1 KB · Views: 251
  • AX3.jpg
    AX3.jpg
    74.4 KB · Views: 245
  • axelson1.jpg
    axelson1.jpg
    78.8 KB · Views: 238
  • axelson2.jpg
    axelson2.jpg
    65.6 KB · Views: 246
I found bobcad to be horrible software but I am a masterCAM user....you may be better off with fusion as it seems to be more geared towards 3d stuff.

Lawrence Machine Service in Texas specializes in Axelson lathes. I used to have one and they were very helpful.

This is not a complex part. Any CAM software should be able to model AND toolpath this without issue. Fusion, Bobcad, Mastercam...this is an easy part inside of any of those. It always comes down to the user and their education with CAM.