What's new
What's new

I want to learn CAD/CAM but how

scrapdaddy

Aluminum
I have been a machinist for 23 years both cnc and manual, production and job shop and at one job they taught me Gibbs and I learned it well for about a year. I would like to get back into it but there are so many different software companies out there and everyone wants experience in different softwares how can I get back into it?

buy a student version of which ever package you want to use. usally a couple hundred bucks. But you will not be able to post your results. So who knows if what your doing will work. so you have to use there verifying functions to get an idea as to what is going to happen at the machine.

Community Colleges teach Cad Cam. Several in my area do. I've taken many courses in this area. The tutition is reasonable as well.

Try the Tech schools as well. I've taken classes in Cad Cam there too. The fee was about $250.

dear scrapdaddy
I have some experiences in Pro/e,UG,Mastercam,Autocad,if you need some data or help,please sent E-MAIL to me ,i hope i can help you something.

scrapdaddy,

Colleges have night programs for CNC. Mine does.

Also some good usefull stuff to start re-learning:

HAAS CNC Mill Book.
http://www.haascnc.com/training/MillProgram_PDF/xmwb.pdf

HAAS CNC G and M Code Refrence Chart For Mills.
http://www.haascnc.com/training/MillProgram_PDF/xMGMCard.pdf

Both have been great helps to me when we learnt G-Code :D

Also NC Plot is great. :D They are developing Version 2 now and have the beta out and they also have Version 1.1 out for Free downloading.

http://www.ncplot.com/

My college starts off teaching G-Code then goes on to Mastercam so you might be stuck learning G-Code agian.

Dimitri