Machine Simulation setups. HSMWorks/F360 - STL's for stuff. seems thin?
Close
Login to Your Account
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Mich, USA
    Posts
    71
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    41
    Likes (Received)
    10

    Default Machine Simulation setups. HSMWorks/F360 - STL's for stuff. seems thin?

    Hi everyone. While I will post over in the CAM section of F360, I thought I would ask here about the aspect of adding machine STL's for use as Machine simulations? My Son and I are also trying to locate STL's for hass stuff, and they are just not out there or I don't know where to look? V/F4 and trt210, etc.. older stuff. Am hearing on sites/forums that Haas won't give them up, buy they exist. GrabCad stuff and other free places have some starting points but it's thin. I can just go solo w/ simple stuff on my own... but honetly, as much as all this CAM stuff costs, I thought it would be more mature than it currently is. Or am I think I'm missing something.

    Is there a CAM package w/ turn key simulation and full library's of STL's and simulation setups... Just wondering.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    New York
    Posts
    8,691
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    2312

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by countryguy View Post
    Hi everyone. While I will post over in the CAM section of F360, I thought I would ask here about the aspect of adding machine STL's for use as Machine simulations? My Son and I are also trying to locate STL's for hass stuff, and they are just not out there or I don't know where to look? V/F4 and trt210, etc.. older stuff. Am hearing on sites/forums that Haas won't give them up, buy they exist. GrabCad stuff and other free places have some starting points but it's thin. I can just go solo w/ simple stuff on my own... but honetly, as much as all this CAM stuff costs, I thought it would be more mature than it currently is. Or am I think I'm missing something.

    Is there a CAM package w/ turn key simulation and full library's of STL's and simulation setups... Just wondering.
    .
    .
    many just make there own rough models. i wouldnt get carried away with tool paths and tool holders coming within 0.100" of collision
    .
    i can see them not giving away CAD models cause often they are not 100% accurate down to .0001", CAD model can easily be big or small in spots. obviously from experience dealing with big castings it is quite common for big castings to be big or small .25" in spots on castings weighing tons
    .
    i have done work on large 6 story tall printing press CAD model and found CAD model usually doesnt show parts bending from various forces. i had a alignment issue once i solved by sticking a .001" shim is a critical area to compensate for part bending.
    .
    just saying CAD models rarely 100% accurate
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails millcalibration_.jpg  

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    California
    Posts
    528
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    82
    Likes (Received)
    266

    Default

    Try asking your local HFO apps dept for models. Mine has sent me a couple. HRT and HRC210's

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    483
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    63
    Likes (Received)
    206

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by countryguy View Post
    ... but honetly, as much as all this CAM stuff costs, I thought it would be more mature than it currently is. Or am I think I'm missing something.

    Is there a CAM package w/ turn key simulation and full library's of STL's and simulation setups... Just wondering.
    As much as all this CAM stuff costs??? Exactly how much did you pay for Fusion? $0.00?

    Sure, there are lots of CAM packages that do machine sim out of the box, with all the stl files you would need. If you think Fusion costs a lot then you don't want to even look at a quote for software that would be capable of machine sim.

  5. Likes Tom Lg liked this post
  6. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    California
    Posts
    326
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    44
    Likes (Received)
    93

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by goooose View Post
    As much as all this CAM stuff costs??? Exactly how much did you pay for Fusion? $0.00?

    Sure, there are lots of CAM packages that do machine sim out of the box, with all the stl files you would need. If you think Fusion costs a lot then you don't want to even look at a quote for software that would be capable of machine sim.
    e.g., Esprit

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Country
    CANADA
    State/Province
    British Columbia
    Posts
    734
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    258
    Likes (Received)
    343

    Default

    Honestly outside of immediate fixtures: 5 axis vice, raptor fixture, tool holders etc I don’t really care what else is happening outside the immediate vicinity of the part and tool. Add to it the unnecessary extra collision checking and other calculations and it all becomes a big waste of time outside of some specific simultaneous 5 axis situations.

    All the time you’ll lose screwing around in the computer is going to come out of your bottom line because until the part is on the table it’s just a pretty picture.

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    483
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    63
    Likes (Received)
    206

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hazzert View Post
    Honestly outside of immediate fixtures: 5 axis vice, raptor fixture, tool holders etc I don’t really care what else is happening outside the immediate vicinity of the part and tool. Add to it the unnecessary extra collision checking and other calculations and it all becomes a big waste of time outside of some specific simultaneous 5 axis situations.

    All the time you’ll lose screwing around in the computer is going to come out of your bottom line because until the part is on the table it’s just a pretty picture.
    If you have a complex program that runs for 30+hrs you are going to spend the extra 1-2hrs making sure the program is 100% before you push cycle start. 100% full machine sim without question.
    Sure, running a 2.5D part with a 6 min cycle time...a quick backplot is all that is needed.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Country
    CANADA
    State/Province
    British Columbia
    Posts
    734
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    258
    Likes (Received)
    343

    Default

    ... So complex 5 axis axis work then as I mentioned. There’s plenty of example of long cycle time program that don’t require full collision simulation. If you want to get technical those long cycle time parts are probably running vericut or other dedicated simulation software.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Arizona
    Posts
    1,643
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    138
    Likes (Received)
    183

    Default

    HAAS now has the 3D models for download on their site, just go to the machine you want and look for the link.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails haas-machine-3d-models.jpg  

  11. Likes Hazzert liked this post

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
2