What's new
What's new

Mastercam Vs. Bobcad Vs. GibbsCam Vs. Any other Cam Software out there.

Jexstir

Plastic
Hello, Everyone.
I'm not running a Large Shop. I'm not running a small shop. I work as a programmer for a local Manufacturing plant that runs a large Majority of Cast Brass production and 99% of the programs I write are done at the machine. We have one machine that uses G-code that I have been the exclusive programmer on for the past Year and a half when the machine was delivered to us and 40 or so Mazak Lathes that are 20+ years old with all of the programs done in Mazatrol by the first person able to find a programming key.
I have a small 4-Axis machine at home where I can do hobby projects, and I plan to purchase a larger mill and lathe in the near future with hopes of opening my own small job shop.
All this so everyone knows where I am coming from. I took some training classes on Cam a couple of years ago, that was basically Mastercam Training. Now I have been looking at and Demoing As many different Cam Software Packages as i can come across. However, I haven't had the time to properly train or devote to each one before the trial time runs out.
Plus, I'm tried of having several phone calls a week from different salesmen calling.

So oh lords of the forum. Yes, that was flattery. To anyone , Salesmen/Reps Included, whom is willing to help out.
I'm looking for a CAM software package that can be used on 4-Axis Machines. Not really worried about turning operations as that is normally pretty straight forward programming.

For the people on the ground.
What is your experience with your Favorite Cam?
-Features do you like?
-Which ones you could do without? and Which one have been the handiest
-How is the support with your software? Is it taking Days to get a response?
-Which Cam should I dread even Spending $100 much less the price they want?

For the Salesmen of the Forum

What I'm looking for is:

Price