What's new
What's new

Need Help with BobCAD-CAM for SolidWorks V6 - Counterbore

SteyrTMP

Plastic
I finally got our tiny shop to buy a HAAS VF4. Now I'm trying to make CAD-CAM efficient, and easy. Up until now, for the last few years, I've been making the models and prints, and then punching them in conversational on a ProtoTRAK machine...

As much as I'd love to use Mastercam or Gibbs (Ideally, something that will plug into SolidWorks), the money's not there. We purchased the latest version of BobCAD-CAM for Solidworks, version 6, but I've been struggling.

I'm relatively new to CAD-CAM, although I've been working on SolidWorks for the last 2+ years, and I can make models decently. I understand the basic idea, but BobCAD is ridiculously clunky, and we're not going to spend 3x the software cost for a 2-day course that covers a lot of stuff I'll not be using.

Currently, I've been programming longhand. It will get the job done, but it's tedious to do small jobs, and it's going to catch up when I need to do more detailed projects. So, I've been working on BobCAD for simple projects.

The current project has 8 tapped holes, 4 counterbored holes, and a large hole in the middle. I was able to get BobCAD to pick up the 8 tapped holes, and have it working in Simulation. However, every time I try to pick up the 4 counterbored holes, it won't recognize them in the "select geometry" feature. I've selected, separately, each feature of the counterbored holes, from the top, the sides, edges, the bottom, everything. Nothing works.

BobCAD.jpg

I attached a photo of the part. You can see the toolpaths for the tapped holes.

Any ideas? It'd be decent software if it'd work a little better. If I don't tell each individual feature to compute the toolpaths, Simulation won't work. One would think selecting "Simulation", it'd automatically compute toolpaths via the selections entered.

Any help would be great.