What's new
What's new

Need help w/ Centroid Digitized File into AutoCad

markz528

Hot Rolled
I'm just learning how to digitize with my Centroid M400 control. I use AutoCad 2010 Mechanical 2D. I am not familiar with Cam programs at this time - still learning. I am on the low end of competent with AutoCad 2010 Mechanical - don't know much about the advanced features.

I do have a copy of 2008 MasterCam that I have never used. Can that help me?

I've got a job that I need to digitize. I ran a test part and cannot figure out how to get it into AutoCad.

Centroid saves the digitized file as a .cam extension. When I export it, I expected a .dig file but instead it saved it as a .txt file (see below). Its not a .csv file, but a text file - looks like x, y and z values. Honestly not sure what I would have done with the .dig file either.

Can anyone point me in the right direction to get the digitized file into AutoCad 2010?

digitized.JPG

Can anyone point me in the right direction to get the digitized file into AutoCad 2010?
Maybe toss up a photo of the part ? I don't think anyone is going to graze through all those points to see what you're talking about.

If it's a swoopy shape, search "import point cloud" for some hints. My neighbors used to do something similar and there was quite a bit of hand massaging to get a happy ending.

Thanks! Looks like my version of AutoCad does not support point clouds. Looks like 2014 is the oldest version that supports it.

The attached file is just an example. I need to digitize a cylinder head surface to make a valve cover adapter.