What's new
What's new

New Programer

CodyMartin

Plastic
Hey guys! I’ve been machining for around 5 years now and just got the opportunity to begin programming. I will be using mastercam/solidworks package. Although I know how to navigate both, pull dimensions and post out programs, i still need to learn the actual programming process. Any advise on improving the learning process of it would be appreciated.

If your just starting out, watch all the youtube video's you can. Look at jobs that are already done and look at settings and toolpath chains and geometry used to generate the toolpaths. Get on EMastercam.com and read as much as you can in the forums, and don't be afraid to ask questions either here or on emastercam. If your employer will pay for training then that would be the fastest way to learn. Also find out who your reseller is and if your up to date on your maintenance, then help is just a phone call away.

Thanks for the reply!
I will be getting training from our programmer now and he is very knowledgeable. But I still want to make sure he doesn’t fly by something that I really need to pay attention too. Just trying to find ways to optimize my learning experience.

Yup,
LEARN basic G code and don't let anyone tell you that it is a waste of time. Then when you have that sorted and your mind is still buzzing because it wants to learn more, I hope most programmers brains work like this, buy a Macro programming book and feel really stupid in the beginning... Then once you have the basics of that feel loads better.