What's new
What's new

For a noobie starting out, would you recommend Fusion 360 as a CAD program?

Spud

Diamond
I want to design parts that can be rapid prototyped, some parts for cnc milling and some to be marked / engraved with a laser. Not complex parts.

I just recently completed 2 milling classes at the local technical college. 1st was introductory , on a manual Bridgeport. 2nd was on a Clausing with Fagor 8055 , using only the conversational utility with the only automation being use of the random feature to do multiple spot drilling locations. I have no experience with any CAD / CAM program. I would classify myself as very much a noobie to milling and CAD.

Some design / part ideas:

* custom spectacle frame
* Fixture that will make my belt-grinder more useful by allowing for precise angling , advancing and clamping of workpiece
* Custom belt buckle
* Scale model custom bumpers for my chevy pickup and landrover ,that will then be scaled up if I like the design.

So what is a good CAD program for such designs? Fusion 360? or something else?
Is the CAD software suited for designing widgets intended for (simple) CNC milling different than the software for 3d printing? If some my ideas above are too complex, what is most important for me right now is designing my custom belt buckle idea.