What's new
What's new

SolidWorks Cam Feature Help

quickid71

Plastic
Hey guys, I'm pretty new to SolidWorks Cam and am trying to cam a fairly simple feature on the edge of a part. I'm not sure what I need to do to cam the small 1/8" fillets around the perimeter of this. They are on the edge at a 45 degree angle. Any help would be appreciated.

Attachments

• Capture1.jpg
    Capture1.jpg
    7.5 KB · Views: 112
Chris,

I'm not sure I follow. I have tried various feature options and they all try to machine the feature straight down through the part perpendicular to the face.

The feature is 45 degrees on the edge of the part and would require and Z and X movement or Z and Y movement at the same time.

I guess I'm really trying to learn what type of feature to use (pocket, slot, open profile, hole, engrave, etc.) and what line or face to select as my entity and end condition.

I think I understand now. They aren't dimples like those made by a ball mill. They are cuts at a 45 degree angle.
Then my way would be holding the part at that angle and milling them (I hate that plan. Extra set ups annoy me lol) or 3D milling them with a ball mill (my preferred method). You'll have to make a contain sketch to avoid potential tool marks on the top surface IMO. Does that help?

There is not simple feature recognition for doing those fillet marks. You will have to create a work plane and drill those with a ball nose endmill or use a surfacing operation to machine those fillets. I would create a coordinate system and machine those from the top or front work plane. You will need to make a sketch and treat those fillets like a drilled hole.