What's new
What's new

PC-DMIS vs Verisurf

Hebrewhammer8

Cast Iron
We are looking at getting an inspection arm and i am wondering who uses what software and what your likes/dislikes are. Specifically i'm looking for verisurf and pc-dmis users for some feedback. Any and all info would be greatly appreaciated. Hope everyone had a nice long weekend.

I'd have a hard time believing there's a piece of software out there worse than PC-DMIS when it comes to stability and intuitiveness. It's amazingly bad.

Go take some of your parts to a Hexagon tech center and have them walk you through programming and reporting for a whole day.

I'd you don't have to shutdown and restart at least 7 times throughout the day, I'll buy you a cheeseburger! :willy_nilly:

Ah c'mon :smoking: The demond is not that bad. I was a CMM programmer for 4 years mostly working on very complex motor housings. Lots and lots of experience with the demond. It does require you to be smart about what you are doing, like save your work after every 15 min's, have backup's of all your probe files handy, calibrate all probes and their angles along with the lower level matrix every week ... oh wait ... I guess ya'all right :bawling:

I was typing from my iPhone last night, so I just wanted to get across how awful the Demon can be. It does actually have some positives.

Overall, I'm satisfied with it. I think we're on 4.1? Maintenance is $4,000/year, and I don't even know anybody who installs the maint upgrades for fear of the next release introducing more bugs than the current release.

One thing I've learned, is if it does ANYTHING you weren't expecting, no matter how small - shut it down and restart.

If I were buying a system that had Verisurf as an option, I'd go that route. If for no other reason, because you can call Ron Branch and have him help you with stuff.

verisurf

Verisurf is a great software specially if you mostly work with model based definition parts. It has endless capabilities.