What's new
What's new

For people who have experience in camworks multiaxis - 5 axis

motox2121

Plastic
Hi All -

We made the jump this year to 5 axis milling - I have a lot of experience designing inside of solidworks, and am very used to the interface, so I wanted something that integrated into solidworks. I have used mastercam for solidworks in the past - years ago, and had some success. It seems like a lot of the local guys use Camworks / Solidworks CAM, but most are not doing any 5 axis milling. We purchased Camworks with the full blown simultaneous package - We got up and running pretty quickly, but there is definitely some quirky behavior in the software. For the most part, I can get things done, but sometimes the multiaxis stuff requires a lot of workarounds / surface offsets / trimming to get what I want. I feel like I am constantly tricking the software into getting the results I need. I notice buggy behavior quite a bit. Tech support has been good, but a lot of the time they cant even explain the "why" behind the bugs I am seeing.

For those of you who program 5 axis mills - I am curious if you have used Camworks before with success? If so - have you since switched to a more "advanced" software? i.e. Hypermill? Also Mastercam with the 5 axis deburring module looks awesome... Even basic fusion has some things that look appealing to me.

Just curious how this platform compares to others, it seems more geared towards 2.5 / 3 axis stuff, but I don't have too much to compare too. I love the fact it uses SW tools / interface.

Looking for feedback specifically in the multiaxis realm. I feel like I am constantly dicking around with settings, guessing and checking to get the results I want. Some settings dont scale how you would expect them to, and even after a year inside the software, it still does not feel intuitive. We are making some complex parts with simultaneous toolpaths, but the time it takes to get the result we are seeking, is too high for now.