What's new
What's new

Simulating parts for 5 axis.

EthanW

Plastic
Hey yall, I'm new here and so if I missed a similar post etc please direct me there. I attempted to search for a similar problem, but couldn't find one. I am currently CAMing a 5 axis part in fusion 360, but I personally don't like how I can't simulate the machine in the program. Fusion said they are working on putting it into the program, but in the meantime is there some program I can use to simulate the program virtually to check clearances and stock. I am new to 4 and 5 axis programming so its a bit tough for me to visualize how the machine will move, so this would be extremely helpful as a crutch until I get that experience. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Vericut is one of the best out there,but if you're using Fusion, I doubt you'll shell out the money for it. It's expensive.

Yeah I was hoping for a free solution if possible. It may be that I just have to tough it out, but I hope someone may have an idea for me. Thanks

You've spent the bills on a 5 axis, now is not the time to cheap out. One serious crash will pay for good CAM and Vericut!

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

EthanW -

The above replies are all true, but miss a subtle point I will now direct your attention to.

There are at least 3, types of "simulation"software.

1. "Solid Model Simulation With Fixtures In the CAD system" - I have no idea if Fushion has this, but it could well be what they'll be offering. The key point is that you put things like fixtures in the model, and it finds the places where you crash into the fixture. This is very worthwhile.