Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    West Virginia
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

A little OT maybe..

I have been using SW for 10+ years. Owned my own copy now for 3 years I think. I don't know any other and have really been happy with SW. I don't really understand for a business that makes money on it not keeping up the license. I guess maybe if I had 4-5 copies it would be much tougher. I look at it as a cost of doing business and something that allows me to make money I would not otherwise be able to make.

Anyway, I just switched VAR's again, for the second time now. One thing that's rarely mentioned is that when you do buy Solidworks make sure the seller has the proper support. The first outfit I bought it from knew almost nothing about SW CAM/Camworks. And what made me mad was they seemed much more interested in selling 3d printers than supporting SW/CAM. Then the second was better but then a guy called me and gave me a sales pitch. They have been a CAMworks vendor for many years. I spoke with one of the tech support guys and he came from a machine shop background and seemed to really know his stuff. So again I switched VAR's. The knowledge base for SW is so big support is no big deal since if I have a question google seems like the easiest way to get it answered. But for SW CAM/CAMworks there is not much beyond the basics in google. Hopefully that will change as the user base for SW CAM increases.

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Oregon
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Pete Deal View Post
    I don't really understand for a business that makes money on it not keeping up the license. I guess maybe if I had 4-5 copies it would be much tougher. I look at it as a cost of doing business and something that allows me to make money I would not otherwise be able to make.