What's new
What's new

solidworks student looking to better my skills

sheppyfire87

Plastic
Ive been a machinist/operator for about 5 years now. Im currently enrolled in mechical engineering at a community college, though its one hell of a struggle once you've been out of school for over a decade.
Anyways I'm currently taking a solidworks class, and i want to become the greatest at it. As i said before im struggling, im not good at school but im determined to stick with it.
I wanted to see if people have recommendations on how to become great at this. I would be more then happy to try and model items for people, basically i want to do what it takes to become great.
Then i after that i want to get into programing.

Any kind of help would be much appreciated!
Thank you everyone
Tim

Do the tutorials... do them again. Do them until they are easy. Go buy a scrap engine and tear it apart and model it. I had a friend who tore an R6 motor apart and modeled it. Took him all winter and when he was done he was killer at SW.

That is a deep well... once you get good at models and assemblies of machined parts learn to do fabbed parts. Then learn how to do surfacing. And on and on and one.

I hear you man I've been thinking of going back to school to get a degree myself. I've been in the trade for over 20 years, I use Solidworks everyday and I still learn new tricks. Practice everyday and download all the exercises you can. Solidworks has a lot of features but in my case I only use it to machine parts, I don't do simulation or electrical so I won't learn that side of it. Choose what to learn first then go into the other ones little by little. To be honest I've been flirting with Fusion 360 and I am really liking it especially because it has everything you need, modeling, CNC programming, simulation, mesh, it's really good. Especially the price. Keep practicing man and good luck to you. Grab some prints from your job and model em up at home too, it helped me. [emoji6]