What's new
What's new

SW CAM / Order of operations

motofish84

Plastic
Hoping to gain some insight from programmers and operators. I am using Solidworks / SWCAM....I am new to creating CNC milling tool path programs. Have done a couple but they have all been one or two sided.
My experience comes from designing and manually machining components with fairly simple to mid level complexity. I designed this component as part of an indexing mechanism for a machine that is in progress. The rough stock dimensions are 1.75"x1.75"x3.75". Finished 1.5"x1.5"X3.5"

Pivot Snip.JPG

I don't know what I don't know...so I am having trouble determining the best order of operations in milling this component on our HAAS 3 Axis with a single Kurt DX6 vise. I guess the struggle at this point is the .050" chamfer. But I am also looking for suggestions on the order of operations. My initial thought was to machine the top hole pattern, center bore and perimeter contour and vertical radius with an "avoid area" on the horizontal radius. Then rotate the part 180* locate off of the 1/2" bore machine the 1" counter bore and perimeter chamfer in the non avoid area. Rotate 90* and machine the horizontal radius and chamfer then rotate 180* and finish the final chamfer....does that make sense? Am I going about this in the wrong way or making it herder than it has to be?

Thanks for any help

Tyler

MY .02 Cents!

GO FOR IT!

then you'll know, only way to learn.

GO PACK GO!

fellow Cheesehead now in AZ.

I can't quite tell what's going on with your part based on the image. Regardless, I don't think anyone else can tell you this. I have some parts that I make as part of one of my own products. The order of machining and tweaking never ends. Every time I make them I see something that I think may be a little better regarding the tool paths or the order.

As Len_1962 said- go for it and almost for sure you'll figure out a better way the second time.

Thanks to you both.