What's new
What's new

Thoughts and Opinions on Fusion 360

Pete F

Titanium
Now that Fusion 360 is out of Beta and being used live I'm curious as to how people are finding it, any comments of suggestions?

I use Macs and this has always been hobbling in terms of CAD/CAM software, rather ironic considering how much they're used in some design areas. I tried to get in to Rhino, available in Beta for Macs, but it just wasn't for me. Not to take anything away from it, it just seemed more suited to organic shapes than the machining I'm doing on (for now) manual machines. Obviously it also had no CAM capacity at all. As a complete newbie to the CAM side of things, I can still see the value of it if it's available, just in terms of how to go about turning a model into something real.

Autodesk probably don't monitor this forum, but I have to take my hat off to them in terms of pricing and conditions. They've always had an extremely generous policy in terms of academic licensing, but with that window now closed to me, I very much appreciate their "startup" licensing. I know I'll get flack here for saying this, but I think it's very smart of them, and I believe there is absolutely no incentive at all for anyone to pirate their software. If you want to do that, just use the "startup" licence anyway :nutter: Meanwhile I think that token will be very much appreciated by the community, and when combined with a very realistic pricing scheme, I will have absolutely no hesitation in doing the right thing and converting my startup licence to a regular licence once the software starts producing money. I don't think I'm Robinson Crusoe either. Hats off to Autodesk in my opinion.

So far I like the software and agree with your comments. They appear to be listening to uses and their concerns.

I believe it is going to be a great product and have purchased to lock in the ultimate at standard pricing.