What's new
What's new

What is there besides Solidworks?

Neslob660

Aluminum
It has been a while since I've looked into cad/cam packages. We are a production job shop with a mix of Citizens, Mazak Quick-turns/Multiplexes, Nakamura's, Kitamura & Doosan 3 & 4 axis mills. From what I gather by talking to our machine tool distributors and reading on here, I believe Esprit would be the best cam solution for us, but I'm not sure about cad. I understand that Solidworks is a huge player in this realm, but are there any other cad packages worth looking at? You input would be of great help.

Thanks, Brian

I like our inventor from Autodesk. I have no experience with solidworks so I couldn't do a comparison. They're a similar software tho... Assemblies, FEA, presentations... Etc

Not many people would consider Esprit's CAD a serious package. Experts with licenses usually hate it.

lots of players run inside of solidworks.

I am a Gibbs Cam programmer and love Solidworks too. Both work hand in hand seamlessly. After 30 years I am sold.. Just saying.

I've heard nothing but good things about Solidworks, and will likely go with it, but before laying down that much of the bosses money I want to get some opinions. Thanks!

Not many people would consider Esprit's CAD a serious package. Experts with licenses usually hate it.

lots of players run inside of solidworks.

Yeah, I've kinda heard the same thing. I'm looking at doing what kid5084 is doing, only with Esprit. I never intended on using Esprit's CAD. I was just wondering if anyone had experience with both Solidworks and another current CAD package. Thanks for the reply.