What's new
What's new

Advice for entering metrology / manufacturing careers

hc5rq

Plastic
I guess this would be the best place to ask this. I'm in the process of trying to transition into a new career field, but I'm having trouble finding education / retraining that isn't prohibitively expensive or time-consuming. I do have some interest in metrology and manufacturing. My background is technical (physics master's degree). Without intending any offense towards machinists, I'll say that I'd prefer to do something a bit more cerebral and lucrative than being a CNC machinist, for example, if possible.

I asked this question to Will of Machine Thinking (interesting content, by the way; check it out), and he suggested I ask here. He suggested finite element analysis as something I should investigate. Does anyone have any kind of career paths on FEA? Any opinions or advice on lean manufacturing careers?

I guess this would be the best place to ask this. I'm in the process of trying to transition into a new career field, but I'm having trouble finding education / retraining that isn't prohibitively expensive or time-consuming. I do have some interest in metrology and manufacturing. My background is technical (physics master's degree). Without intending any offense towards machinists, I'll say that I'd prefer to do something a bit more cerebral and lucrative than being a CNC machinist, for example, if possible.

I asked this question to Will of Machine Thinking (interesting content, by the way; check it out), and he suggested I ask here. He suggested finite element analysis as something I should investigate. Does anyone have any kind of career paths on FEA? Any opinions or advice on lean manufacturing careers?

often college courses the school will have bulletin board of job postings or some jobs are posted on a school web site. often hard to get a job unless willing to accept a low starting pay and often need to be willing to work nights.