What's new
What's new

College Student seeking summer internship/apprenticeship

Abeship

Hot Rolled
I am re-posting this, and hopefully looking for a position for summer of 2015

Let me introduce myself here first. I am currently technically a sophomore/junior attending Virginia Tech hoping to earn a degree in Mechanical Engineering and Physics. This past summer I was fortunate enough to work in Richmond VA at the Paper Mill Bear Island, where I worked under their ME doing some smaller stuff, some drawings in solidworks, autocad, etc. I was also taught how to weld for approximately 3 days (I am no expert, but really enjoy doing it and would love to practice more), along with being fortunate enough to use their milling machine and lathe a few times, making smaller brackets and such. I am by no means a machinist, but I do hope to learn as much as I can. I used to own a few machines, specifically a Gorton I-22 mill, hardinge dsm-59 lathe, Victor 1640 lathe, a belt sander and some other misc. smaller machines. I currently own a Tormach PCNC 1100. I work when I can on them, building the occasional part for my family, or even a paintball part for fun. I do not do this for business, it is more a hobby that one day I would like to turn into a business.

I took a semester off to do a Co-op, working for Middle River Aircraft systems (GE Aviation) as an ME Intern. I have learned that a desk job is not something that I would like. I am a hands-on guy, and sitting behind a screen all day is not appealing to me. This job will end in December, running from August-December 2013. I again interned for GE Aviation last Summer 2014, it was definitely better than my previous, I was at a manufacturing plant and on my feet most of the day, but would like to diversify a little bit.