What's new
What's new

Would I be a good candidate for a machinist apprenticeship?

PNW_ES

Plastic
I've been eyeing a machinist apprenticeship in the city I just relocated to (closer to family), and I think I would be a pretty good candidate. My long term goal is to be an ME in a larger shop environment, and I'm currently taking classes toward that end. I have two years experience in fabrication at a shop back home doing an informal apprenticeship, and I spent a year in Alaska in plant maintenance. I think I have a pretty solid framework in fabrication and how that fits into the needs of various operational environments. I prefer the shop environment, and was encouraged by some of the machinists in my old shop to pursue an apprenticeship in that trade.

Just wondering what the expectation is for incoming apprentices. Is it ok that I'm wanting to expand and refine my skills as opposed to starting from scratch? Does my experience in other technical fields help or hinder me?