What's new
What's new

17" Cinci Hydrashift changes speeds unexpectedly

wfissell

Plastic
Hi, All,

thank you in advance. I am a relative noob getting accustomed to a 17 cinci hydrashift, purchased "ran when parked". After a bit of cleaning, rinsing, fresh fluids, degunking the QCGB and making sure the oilers work, I'm pretty pleased overall. Its being powered by an ARP three phase. The major problem with it is some bed wear form abuse, but I bought it to surface flywheels so that doesnt affect me and probably wouldnt seriously affect anything.

It shifts very nicely and the clutches seem OK- it does tend to set the chuck spinning gently when you power on the motor, but a tap of the brakes stops it immediately. It's very challenging to get the the QCGB to pin to register into the selected gear.

I do notice that at speeds above about 540 or so, the lathe will spin up, and then after 30 sec to a minute speed up a second time to a higher rev. I do not have a tach but could probably obtain one. This is not a shifting issue- its a motor speed issue. Any hints?

thank you!

Bill

By "motor speed issue," do you mean that you can observe or hear that the motor is changing speeds after 30 seconds?

What motor is on this lathe? If it's the original three phase motor, is it a single speed or two speed (i.e. the windings are done such that it can be operated at two different speeds depending on the control relays in the box mounted on the backside of the headstock)?

A photo of the data plate on the motor, and a description of which ARP (American Rotary?) phase converter that you're using might be helpful, too.

The spinning spindle seems typical of these Hydrashifts; mine does the same thing. Probably a slight drag in the multi-disc clutch, but if it stops with the brake, then it's nothing I'd be too concerned about.