What's new
What's new

Cincinnati Hydrashift 10x60 control panel wiring help

Hello,

I am new to machining and to Practical Machinist, so forgive the rookie stupid questions.

I have recently acquired a 1973 Cincinnati Hydrashift 10x60 lathe. The lathe was in fair to good condition and I have since given it a paint job and tuned up everywhere I can to give it some tlc. I bought a manual reprint for lube specs and other info. I removed the headstock cover and gears look in quite good condition for the age.

Now for the problem I am having.

I just got a new Mitsubishi D720 VLD, sized appropriately (3hp, 10 amp, 220 single phase in, 220 three phase out) and proceeded to wire the lathe. I am bringing 220 single phase to the VLD and 220 three phase from the VLD to the lathe. After programming the parameters for my motor plate specs and checking all connections, breaker, safety, new fuses in machine, when I go to push the on (forward and reverse) buttons on lathe I am just getting a crackling in the control panel but nothing else. It also flashes OL on VLD indicating overload.

When I went to look at machine the equipment seller had it hooked up with 440 volts and the machine worked thru all the forward and reverse speeds, so I know the lathe runs. Additionally, I was told the machine came out of a Nabisco factory and the plate on the control panel says 460 volts. I obtained a motor wiring diagram from Reuland, and changed the motor leads to low voltage:

9-3-L3
8-2-L2
7-1-L1
4-5-6

My question is, will I need to make changes in the control panel to make the machine run on 230 three phase or would the control panel be wired the same for 230/460?

I am going to call Cincinnati Machines again to see if I can get a panel wiring diagram, but talking to them is like talking to the DMV, so I figured I would start here with the knowledge of the group.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Frank

Last edited:
Additional info

Hello,