What's new
What's new

Cincinnati toolmaster gear shaping

So im new to the machinist side, ive been a mechanic for a lot of years now though. I stripped down my toolmaster i just bought and found a few gears were stripped and the table feed bearings are gone. Whats stopping me from using some brass or bronze and fabricating new bushings/turning new gears? Btw does anyone have blueprints for those gears by now? Diametrel value, pitch angle/pressure angle, etc... thank you all for your help in advance, and yes i did buy a book on gear shaping, i just thought id ask first.

I have not seen blueprints for those, but also have not looked specifically.

I do know that I would trade a pretty-much-working* x-power feed from my Toolmaster 1D for a mid-range commonly-available power feed unit. (Mine is 3-phase, but replacement could be single.)

Of course, you could go that way, too. But if you want to stay OEM, it's an option.

*Meaning, it won't stay engaged at some settings. Probably some pins that have become shear pins, functionally...

Chip, any chance youd just sell it to me? The company who bought Milacron wants a mint for the parts. Id rather give the money to someone who could use it. Any chance this may work? Thanks for the reply, im happy to see that at least someone still plays with cincinnati stuff!
9d9afbfbc974976e6fc7ffd88ea5e190.jpg
c99527fcf1042a18dbd9fd0890053a73.jpg
15aa74494a130a85248216c3cf927dd5.jpg

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

You might want to send a PM to cmike and see if he has or knows of any prints for these Toolmaster gearboxes.

I'm guessing from the first photo that you have a later Toolmaster with the multi-piece slip gear at the top of the table feed gearbox? The earlier machines used a solid gear cut from steel, but yours appears to be a brass or bronze center?

Toolmaster table feed.jpg