What's new
What's new

Finally got my first machine. Van Norman #16S

Myrmidon

Cast Iron
Finally got my first machine (and just bought my first house to store it!) Found a VN16S on craigslist awhile back in July. Went to look at it, put some money down, and picked er up after we moved into the new house. (Moved it in last friday).

Now just waiting to get the RPC so I can run it.

I've never worked on a VN before or even saw one up close before I bought this one. I just was sure I wanted a universal tilting head toolroom mill with a quill.

So onto my question: outside of the 1,000,000 lube change, what should I mechanically be checking for wear (I ran around with an indicator, swept a bearing race and engineers square at true vertical and true horizontal to check for knuckle wear) TIR was less than .0015 on sweep.

It has a 30 NMTB spindle and the overarm/arbor support.

Since you are new to this, couple of things before you accept .0015 out of tram. First off... keep in mind, .0015 is half the thickness of a sheet of notebook paper. That's pretty danged good for a 60yr old machine, even if you can't correct it. That said, I'll bet you can improve it.