What's new
What's new

Gorton O-16a mill

sigpros

Plastic
I bought one of these last year and I haven't got around to setting it up yet. I am new to machining and didn't know much about mills when I stumbled onto this one at a great price. The mill is in fantastic shape and hasn't been used much. My question is what was this machine designed for? The slowest speed it shows is 1400 RPM and goes up to 12000 RPM. Can I install a VFD and slow the old girl down? I bought this mill to use on my little hobby farm and to teach my son about machining. I fear I may have jumped the gun and bought a mill I can't use. Thanks for any help

I don't know much about them, but looking at a brochure, I think there should be speeds lower than 1400rpm. I would also guess its better at finer more detailed work, verse hogging off material.

Gorton Super-Speed milling machines:
George Gorton Machine Co. - Publication Reprints - Super Speed Milling Machines - Catalog | VintageMachinery.org

The pdf:
http://vintagemachinery.org/pubs/2136/23576.pdf

Operator and parts manual:
George Gorton Machine Co. - Publication Reprints - Gorton 0-16A Mill and Duplicator Manual | VintageMachinery.org

the pdf:
http://vintagemachinery.org/pubs/2136/3540.pdf