What's new
What's new

Hendey 16x54 lathe - Requesting Opinions and Recommendations for Buying

landrand

Plastic
I've found an older Hendey 16x54 metal lathe that I'm interested in purchasing. Unfortunately, I'm new to machining and don't know much about lathes. I do have some pics of the lathe that you can find attached. I'm not sure what model this is, but one of the pics has a number of 16-4798. From the pics, looks like it comes with a 3 jaw, jacobs chuck, and misc drill bits and tooling. The owner is asking $2,000 and listed it as fair condition. I haven't seen it yet as I wanted to get the experts opinion first as it's about a 5 hour drive away. Could I get your opinion on this lathe and what you think it's worth. Any idea what year this was made? The lathe can be powered up if I do travel to look at it.

I'm going to retire in a few years and am looking to set up a hobby metal shop. Thanks for your time and I look forward to your recommendations and comments.Pic1.jpgPic19.jpgPic2.jpgPic3.jpgPic4.jpg

Early 18 speed - you can tell by the 600 (about) top speed. This machine has been covered in a previous thread this year - the starter of that thread went to look at it and found it to be in poor condition. Maybe I can find that thread - if I do, I'll post the link to it in this thread ON EDIT here is his inspection report

http://www.practicalmachinist.com/v...56-lathe-inspection-results-questions-349285/

Serial for dating will be stamped into machined cast iron right end on top in between two front ways adjacent two screws holding up lead screw bracket

High class tool room lathe in its day

Here is 1940 manual scan - thanks to Greg Menke for hosting this for me

http://pounceatron.dreamhosters.com/docs/hendey/1940-Hendey-Op-Man.pdf

Here is my old write up (starting on post #17) on their lead screw reverse/threading system

http://www.practicalmachinist.com/v...-emergency-113621/?highlight=Hendey+Threading