What's new
What's new

Kearney & Trecker 205 S-12 Horizontal Mill Value

landrand

Plastic
I'm new to Machining Mills and am interested in making an offer on a Kearney & Trecker 205 S-12 Horizontal Mill (6,250lbs, 12x56 table, 5HP, 50 NMT, coolant system,and arbor support). Unfortunately, I have no idea what this mill might be worth. I won't be able to see the mill run as it's already been removed from the shop and sitting on a trailer. The owner says the mill runs great. Here's a pic of the mill and tooling that goes with it. Can someone give me a ballpark estimate of what I should consider offering for the mill and tooling?

Attachments

• KIMG0309(2).jpg
    KIMG0309(2).jpg
    9.3 KB · Views: 369
  • KIMG0357.jpg
    KIMG0357.jpg
    19.4 KB · Views: 524
  • KIMG0358.jpg
    KIMG0358.jpg
    15.6 KB · Views: 564
  • KIMG0359.jpg
    KIMG0359.jpg
    14.9 KB · Views: 524
In my opinion, the K & T S-12 Mill is worth around $3,000 if it is in good condition and runs well.

Make sure you get all of the available attachments, i.e.: overarm supports, vertical head, DRIVE GEAR for vertical head, tooling, etc.

From the photos, the machine appears to be in decent condition. However, you cannot determine way wear and lead screw backlash from the photos.

Good luck with your purchase.

SJS

Make sure you get all of the available attachments, i.e.: overarm supports, vertical head, DRIVE GEAR for vertical head, tooling, etc.
SJS

I don't believe this mill comes with a vertical head and drive gear for vertical head. Perhaps that is something I can pick up in the future if any show up for sale. That's all I know is some tooling is included and I did attach a pic of what is included.

If you can't see it run and be able to check the various problem points I would offer $500. Then add another $1000 if it checks out thru all speeds and feeds. BTDT scrapped a machine because....