What's new
What's new

Kearney and Trecker Milwaukee 2HL Plain Horizontal Mill

Ken Villars

Plastic
I am very new to mills, and this is my first post on this forum.

I am considering purchasing a K&T Milwaukee 2HL Plain, and I could use some information and advice.

The mill appears to be in working order (to my brief and uninformed inspection), and comes with a bucket of cutting wheels, two spindles (if that's what they're called - they hold the cutting wheels), and more than a half dozen chucks of various sizes. It has three (working) battery operated DRO sensors, and the cooling system for the cutters pumps fluid. The owner bought a CNC vertical mill, and is making space in his shop. He's asking $600. The machine is fairly local, so transport cost should be best case scenario for me.

I haven't been able to find out much about this machine, but did find a suggestion that I have the owner run it through each gear, forward and reverse, and visually verify that the oil glass shows oil and that the gears are being oiled during operation. Are there any other suggestions for me before I go and do a more thorough inspection?

I primarily intend to use the machine to mill small slots in steel (fitting knife guards for fixed blade knives), and other knife related operations (squaring shoulders of hidden tang knives, eventually milling interior spacers and parts for folding knives, and many precision drilling operations). I plan on asking the owner to run me through milling a few similar slots in some steel I'll take with me next time. As far as larger operations, I may use the machine for manufacturing various jigs and fixtures in the future, once I know more about how to use it (I also make traditional bows and other archery equipment).

The serial number for the machine is 7-3622.